The Dullah Omar Foundation


SARChI Chair in Social Change, University of Fort Hare

The SARChI Chair in Social Change is the first Research Chair awarded to the University of Fort Hare and marks a significant milestone and exciting new development for innovative research. The research focus of the Chair in Social Change is located around exploring the historical and contemporary dimensions and dynamics of social change in the Eastern Cape and more broadly in South Africa and Africa. In relation to the research areas of social change, this entails attempting to explore the ways that ‘the social’ itself no longer conjures a common set of assumptions about society, culture, representation, or the methods by which we write and produce a history, or an understanding. Rather, it is a category and construct that needs to be explored, engaged, and researched. As such, the Chair has initiated a range of research programmes which cohere around the theme of Social Acts. The aim is to connect together these research engagements with the changing ways that the social arena is constituted and re-constituted in post-apartheid South Africa. This involves new ways of thinking about the subject and the itineraries, performativities, discourses and acts, actions, agencies, and actors that frame and are re-framed by changing circumstances.

Interdisciplinary Centre for the Study of Global Change, University of Minnesota

The Interdisciplinary Centre for the Study of Global Change (ICGC) houses the University of Minnesota’s graduate education and faculty research collaboration with the University of the Western Cape (UWC), South Africa. The initiative involves graduate student and faculty exchanges, co-taught courses between the campuses using web and ITV technologies, and has the goal of further developing other networks among institutions in the global south. The partnership is supported in part by funding from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the partner universities.

ICGC and the CHR at UWC formalised a partnership in graduate education and faculty research through a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU), put in place during a visit to UWC by former Senior Vice President, Robert Jones, and ICGC Director, Karen Brown. Through the partnership between ICGC and the CHR (directed by Professor Premesh Lalu, an ICGC alumnus) at UWC, our collaborative graduate education and faculty research initiative offers faculty and student exchanges; graduate student fellowships; and joint research projects, workshops, conferences and courses. Current activities include an ongoing faculty and doctoral fellow exchange program with faculty and students from each institution spending time conducting research and engaging with students and faculty on the partner campus for periods of two to six months.

  • Ale School of Fine Arts, Addis Ababa University
  • Amherst Programme in Critical Theory, Amherst College
  • Centre for 21st Century Studies, University of Wisconsin
  • Centre for the Humanities, Washington University in St Louis
  • Centre for the Humanities, Utrecht University
  • Centre for Women’s Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • College Arts Humanities Institute, Indiana University
  • College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University
  • Department of Romance Studies, Cornell University
  • Handspring Trust
  • History Workshop, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Institute for Comparative Literature and Society, Columbia University
  • Institute for Social and Economic Research (ISER), Rhodes University
  • Jackman Humanities Institute, University of Toronto
  • Kompetenzzentrum Afrika, University of Basel
  • Magpie Arts Collective, Barrydale, Western Cape
  • Makerere Institute for Social Research, Makerere University (MISR)
  • Masiphumulele Development Trust, Cape Town
  • Net Vir Pret, Barrydale, Western Cape
  • Research Institute for the Humanities, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Simpson Centre for the Humanities, University of Washington
  • Unit for Humanities (UHURU), Rhodes University
  • Universidad Nacional de San Martin, Buenos Aires